The Judy Erickson Award

In 2007, the Judy Erickson Award was started for the Appalachian Addictions Institute.  Judy Erickson was an addictions counselor who worked with addicts out of a spirit of respect, trust, and honesty. 

This award provides one scholarship to attend the institute. The recipient is chosen as a person who is representative of the spirit of Judy Erickson's work as an addiction counselor, that is, one of respect, trust, and honesty.

This award is meant to acknowledge the important work of an individual counselor with addicted individuals over years of service.

The recipients of the awards have been:


  • 2013: Bob Laws

  • 2012: Laurie Percival Oates - Boone, NC

  • 2010: Beth Hughes - Boone, NC

  • 2009: Tammy Gilmore - Charlotte, NC

  • 2008: Mike Vannoy - Boone, NC

  • 2007: Shirley Hart - Raeford, NC